Home > General, Rant > The Winds of Change

The Winds of Change



When is it the right time to say goodbye to a guild? Well, I would say that the best time is when you get the “feeling”. What is the “feeling”? It is when you get the urge that things are not as they should be. Vague as that statement may be, I left it that way, because it leaves things up to your interpretation. Personally, I have felt the urge slowly creeping in, largely due to guild politics and personal issues.

Almost a year ago, I joined my current guild, and while I love playing with a few of the people (some of which I met when I first started raiding in early BC), I have become rather disillusioned with the fact that while some of them are very skilled players, their dedication to commitments and general respect for others is not necessarily up to par as a whole. However, the problem, which I will not attribute 100% to the guild, because I definitely have to shoulder a lot of the responsibility, is that because of the raid times we have set, I am suffering in my personal life.

Now, you must keep in mind that my guild is a late night raiding guild; our raids start no earlier than 11:45 PM server time, which usually ends up being 12:30 AM. However, I informed my guild around 2-3 months ago that the raid times were catching up with me, and actually causing issues with tardiness at my daytime job, and asked if we could bump things up a bit, because I wanted to log out no later than 1:00 AM. A few of them made efforts to ensure that we would start sooner, but alas, things have fallen back to old ways, and frankly, I am simply tired (which is probably due to only getting 4-5 hours of sleep per night for the past 2 years).

With that, I have gotten increasingly annoyed with the lack of progression my guild has made in raid content. Around mid-February, we were making decent progress (for a casual guild) having downed both Festergut and Rotface in Icecrown Citadel. Then the progress stopped, people began having personal issues where they were away from the game (and some are still out) for months at a time. It was only within the last two weeks that we have downed any additional bosses in Icecrown as a guild beyond those two, talk about stale progression.

That alone isn’t really enough to necessarily push someone out of a guild, but while the job tardiness is a problem, and the lack of progression is disappointing, it pales in comparison to the frustration that I have noticed from my wife. Now, my wife is an extremely patient woman, but I feel that she is becoming disappointed with the habits, and has begun to make regular comments regarding this fact. I have informed her that my guild has been trying to change things, but at this point, I don’t think she believes what I have been saying (nor do I for that fact).

However, the icing on the cake was last night. Because none of our three tanks and one of our healers did not show up, and while this wouldn’t be a problem for a larger guild, our active roster has been hovering around 15 members, with me being both one of our backup healers, and our current backup-backup tank, it put me in kind of a bind. But, because we had a few lesser geared tanks online, and one other healer besides myself, we decided to head back to Naxxramas for a run at the Undying achievement.

The run was going well, but because some of the guys had never run Naxxramas before (because they never actually raided before, period) it took us a rather long time, due to having to explain fights, and make sure people knew what was going on. As a result, the run took approximately two before we finally reached Sapphiron. At this point, significant explanation was required, because we had half the raid that had never done the fight previously, and after almost 30 minutes of AFKs and explanation, we started the fight. Things were going extremely well…until the ice blocks. Apparently, one of the people that went AFK during the explanation, was also one of the people that had never done the fight before. Needless to say, he died from not getting behind an ice block.

So, not only did people not show up (and failed to sign out on our guild forums), but we started almost an hour later than our “scheduled raid time”, and we had a relatively useless Naxxramas run (other than the Abyss Crystals that went into the guild bank) that took much longer than it should have. All of this resulted in me going to bed a total of two hours and 45 minutes after my scheduled log-off time, resulting in my getting only three and a half hours of sleep last night, and damn near causing me to be late to work…again.

This my friends, is the final straw on the camel’s back. I have thus decided that it is time for me to follow the Winds of Change, and make my exit from my guild. I don’t know where the winds will take me, as I have no current plans, but I hope that if you find me, I will be a bit more rested and a tad more happy.

See you in the Shadows,
Spazmoosifer

P.S. For my guild mates that may read this post, I hope you do not take things too personally, and wish you all the best of luck in the future. I hold no grudges against anyone in particular, and hope that you can say the same about me.

Categories: General, Rant
  1. May 15, 2010 at 2:51 PM

    I’ve always been a proponent of “If a game interferes with real life, there is something wrong.” A guy that I work with has knowingly called in to work because he spent too much time playing WoW during the night and not getting enough sleep. Were the employer to find out, they might just get rid of him. And after promising me a stable raid environment that fell apart after 1 night of being there, I might just do that. Haha.

    But, on a serious note, I understand your reasoning and wish you the best of luck.

  2. Kaabrus
    May 15, 2010 at 7:13 PM

    Spaz you have been one of my closest friends on this game. I completely understand your frustrations with the guild cause I have been thinking over what you are doing for sometime now. When a game/guild starts to have an effect on your real life it is time to make a change. I wish you all the best of luck and hope that you stay on this server so we can still play together once in a while.

  3. May 19, 2010 at 7:07 AM

    Good luck to you, Spaz. 🙂

    Trust me, leaving can be hard and it might take you a while before you can really really step away from it all, but life gets better when you can put it all into perspective. WoW is fun and all, but it’s not worth messing with real life.

  1. May 16, 2010 at 6:54 AM

Leave a Reply

