Home > General > Spaz’s Worst 5: Five Man Instances

Spaz’s Worst 5: Five Man Instances


Saresa over at Destructive Reach put up a post about her Top 5 Five Man Instances (Zul’Farrak, Gnomeregan, Caverns of Time: Escape from Durnholde, Shadow Labyrinth, and Caverns of Time: Opening of the Dark Portal were her picks), and I thought it would be interesting to make a post about my five least favorite five man instances, so here we go:

Wailing Caverns
While I actually like some of the story behind the Wailing Caverns, the instance itself is extremely long if you are attempting it at appropriate levels, and due to its structure, many players become lost relatively easily, meaning the instance will take that much more time if you have to go find someone. Not only that, but if your group wipes while in the later part of the instance, it is very possible that the packs at the beginning of the instance have respawned, making it take even more time to complete. In the end, I dislike this one simply because of the excessive amounts of time that are involved if run at an appropriate level.

Razorfen Kraul
While the instance itself is not that horrible, the navigation through the instance was confusing as all get-out. Just take a look at the map below, and you will see what I mean; there are four different paths in the instance, and if you take the wrong one, you are out of luck, and have to run all the way back through this instance just to get to the other bosses. If you take the right one(s), however, you may only have to track back through half of the instance.

In my opinion, this place just suffered from a bad layout, rather than being a truly bad instance.

Razorfen Kraul

Halls of Stone
I’ve never been a big fan of this zone. The architecture, while in the same vein as Halls of Lightning and Ulduar, doesn’t seem to fit quite as well, as the hallways are much to narrow and the mist on the floor seems out of place. Krystallus (the rock boss) and his surrounding sub-zone area seem incredibly out of place within not only the zone, only fitting in because it is Halls of “Stone”; the boss has no lore that I was able to find, making him quite literally, nothing more than a placeholder for loot who is often just skipped over now anyway.

The Stockade
With the number of stuns/knockbacks, disarms, etc. it is not difficult to see how “Stocks” can rank in my least favorite instances. Even at level 80, running someone through this place with my priest is tedious, because you are not immune to any of the abilities of the mobs. The fact that the main spriest area of effect spell is channeled, makes it just that more annoying, because you end up having to use Holy Nova, which just eats up mana very quickly.

Additionally, the loot from the bosses is not very worthwhile at all, if they even drop something more than a few copper and some wool (which can be profitable if you sell it). So, really the only reason to run Stocks is if you are leveling a character, because, while the loot is rather sparse, the experience can be rather decent, in fact I recently had a guild mate that volunteered to run my low level rogue through Stocks about 5 times in a row, and I ended up with about two levels out of the deal.

Maraudon
By far my least favorite instance of all time. The amount of time to completely clear this instance is obscene, and it is in a location that is out of the way for both Horde or Alliance (which is less problematic now with the dungeon finder). My reasons for not just disliking, but HATING this instance stems from the fact that when this was a level appropriate dungeon back in my vanilla WoW days, I never, ever, once found a group that was able to complete this instance. In fact, my first ever experience with the dungeon went like this (keep in mind that everyone else had run the dungeon prior to this):

Party Leader: Let’s just go in the back entrance.
Me: I’m sorry, I’ve never been here before, how do you get there?
Party Leader: Don’t worry, just follow us.

Less than five minutes pass when I somehow pull healing aggro on a mob, and end up dying. The paladin in the group cannot resurrect, because he didn’t have the money to pay for the spell yet (really? wtf?). So, I begin walking back, only to learn:

1. Maraudon’s back entrance is not a standard instance gate, meaning I have to zone in through the main entrance.

2. We did not clear from the main entrance, so I cannot make it back to my group.

Me: Sorry guys, have fun without a healer. /leavegroup

Consequently, that was my last experience as a healer for quite a long time, as I didn’t touch healing again until after Wrath of the Lich King was released.

Well, those are my five least favorite dungeons of the game so far, what are yours?

Categories: General
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

